Cabbies from Hell
Hands down, the far most unappealing and cut throat cabbies appears at Sunway. They are the worst of their kind without any statistic needed to be taken down.
The one who are honest and good enough to take are the one coming from other places. Maybe after dropping a customer nearby.
The one that make their routine driving around here are vultures. Most of them do not use meters. If they do use one, it is tweaked. Some of you might have remember the incident involving me and a cab which has a tweaked meter. It was not pretty. Especially when you end up waking up in your cab at the side of the road. Stinging feel on the face. You look in the mirror, and you find no difference between what you like now and the steering wheel.
Sometimes watching them outside the gate of my workplace, I do not understand how they make their daily living. Maybe by cheating one desperate customer, they call it a day. They reject customers who doesn't want to deal with their outrageous amount of fare. They usually charge double to triple. They end up hanging out there longer than they actually could do normal fare charge and drive around for the day.
Hours and hours went by. No customers want to pay up with their deal. They sat there talking and sometimes poking their own engine. They sit at the restaurant nearby drinking. They seem happy with it.
Well, as long as they are happy with their lives being vultures.

14 Comments:
Whatever makes them happy.
I guess, as long as there's enterprise and capitalism (Wtf am I talking here?) there'll always be 'vultures'. Waiting, circling....ready to attack!
*shudders
Profit maximisation ma. The situation is no different in Shah Alam, maybe worse.
chickie:
Enterprise and Capitalism will always be there. But you couldn't use that as an excuse to be vultures.
There won't be good people like me who will only them sleeping in their cab. Someone might snap and kill them.
vad3r:
Profit maximisation? You read what I write or not. They stood there for hours, sometimes the whole day without a single customer. Because everyone keeps rejecting their outrageous deal.
Having customer all the time with a little extra charge is profit maximisation.
if they wanna stand that or nap there the whole day, it's their problem. You know right that they can never make the money the way they behave? I think we should feel sorry for people like these (feeling sorry in that I look down on you manner I mean), cos' they are letting opportunities of earning money pass them by, hoping to catch the big fish which may never swim by.
oh, perhaps the context of 'rat race' is more applicable here. They don't want business, other cab drivers take the business. Who losesout in the end?
chickie:
Yes you got the objective of the post right. I am looking down on them.
They could earn but they don't want to because they want the big fish. And they are rude at that.
I stand there smoking. At times, they are so rude and arrogant, I wish I had a gun.
Okay, I should have written "profit maximisation with minimum effort". There.
vad3r:
Nothin better than to poke someone. LOL
aren't they called ulat or ulat bulu or something? We always speak dutch to each other and pretended we're from albania or yugoslavia hahahahaha so they charge us normal local fare :P one cab driver actually asked for extra 10 buckeroos from KLCC to Lot 10 ok? I'd rather take the bus or walk than pay that :P
Lisa
Lisa:
No, Ulat Bulu is specifically reserved for Van Rascal. He is Ulat Bulu. The one and only.
I call these people vultures. They think the world could not move on the orbit if they stop driving or something. You should see the faces on them when they say, "Tak nak sudah."
If only Death leaves his Note book with me.
There are more crappy cabby vultures at Pudu where they charge RM30 just to go to PJ. And even more shitty ones at KLCC where they refuse to take you to PJ because they can make fast bucks by just driving around KL city. These guys are a nightmare to tourists and a total embarassment to the country.
Sensual sophia:
I always wanted to ask, is that your photo on top of your blog. Love the tattoo if it is.
Yup. Pudu the notorious 'ulat'.
No wonder we didn't fit in the cabbie show in Travel and Living series.
I hear Ulat. Where the fuck has he vanished?
vad3r:
He became a caveman too. Hunting season. He commented at the previous post though.
Post a Comment
<< Home